seeds-of-worship

I memorized Philippians 4:6-7 by accident. One day my daughter showed me a song she had heard. The words were,

Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

The tune was from a band that turns Bible verses into music, verbatim from the NIV and ESV (Seeds Family Worship – See Picture). Since that day I have discovered a new way to memorize Scripture, but it was month later that I decided to meditate on this particular passage.

Paul is the author. He writes to believers in Philippi in order to commend them for their exemplary Christian walk and to encourage them to keep up the good work. One of the apostle’s final thoughts is: Let your requests be made known to God; and he means that as a direct contrast to the command against anxiety.

We are not told to inform God of our requests. He already knows them. Rather, we are instructed to articulate our dependence on Him. Specifically, we are to do it by prayer and petition with thanksgiving. Our requests may not be granted, but we are guaranteed something better – the peace of God will guard our hearts and minds.

Uncertainty causes anxiety. Not knowing for sure whether we will get that promotion or be healed from our medical condition agitates our hearts. Only divine peace will quiet our restless souls. I remember asking God to change a particular situation, only to verify weeks later that the situation had actually worsened. But I remember experiencing the above text literally. What changed was my perspective about the problem. The peace of God guarded my heart and mind so I endured, assessed, and proceeded. I was able to make the right decisions because my mind was protected. I was able to avoid panic and worry because my heart was secured. I was given divine peace. Once again, the Word of God proved more relevant than the daily newspaper.

The supernatural peace of God is available to you, too, my praying friend. I invite you to spend less time worrying and more time verbalizing your dependence on Him. Don’t know how to start? How about memorizing Philippians 4:6-7?

Let me know what techniques do you use to memorize Bible verses.

Leave a Reply

